Power Schools: Maximize Your Congressional Talent – Ohio State University


Your college and university alumni network in Congress is tremendously powerful. If you are interested in talking with anyone from your college and university family, schedule a Mini Strategy Session and let’s discuss a strategy for direct congressional outreach: Schedule A New Appointment


Ohio State University – House & Senate:

Ms. Kellie Adesina – Senior Counsel (D) – Agriculture Committee (House) – kellie.adesina@mail.house.gov
Ms. Waverly Gordon – Health Policy Adviser – Energy and Commerce Committee (House) – waverly.gordon@mail.house.gov
Mr. Joe Flarida – Professional Staff Member – Science, Space and Technology Committee (House) – joe.flarida@mail.house.gov
Mr. Aaron Wasserman – Legislative Director – Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA) – aaron.wasserman@mail.house.gov
Mr. Arman Ramnath – Scheduler – Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA) – arman.ramnath@mail.house.gov
Mr. Dan Riffle – Senior Legislative Assistant – Rep. John Conyers (D-MI) – dan.riffle@mail.house.gov
Ms. Jennifer Storipan – Legislative Director/Counsel – Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH) – jennifer.storipan@mail.house.gov
Mr. Sri Vedachalam – Environmental, Water & Energy Fellow – Rep. Matt Cartwright (D-PA) – sri.vedachalam@mail.house.gov
Ms. Wyndee Parker – Senior Policy Adviser – Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) – wyndee.parker@mail.house.gov
Mr. Will McKelvey – Staff Assistant – Rep. Ro Khanna (D-CA) – will.mckelvey@mail.house.gov
Ms. Kamara Jones – Communications Director – Congressional Black Caucus – kamara.jones@mail.house.gov
Mr. David Gillies – Professional Staff Member – Appropriations Committee (Senate) – david_gillies@appro.senate.gov
Ms. Anne Knapke – Legislative Director – Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) – anne_knapke@klobuchar.senate.gov
Ms. Carla McGarvey – Legislative Director – Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL) – carla_mcgarvey@billnelson.senate.gov
Ms. Sarah Shive – Senior Counsel – Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) – sarah_shive@stabenow.senate.gov
Mr. Joe Shultz – Democratic Staff Director – Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) – joseph_shultz@ag.senate.gov
Mr. Robert Diznoff – Legislative Director – Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) – robert_diznoff@shaheen.senate.gov
Mr. Joe McGarvey – Senior Policy Adviser – Sen. Mazie Hirono (D-HI) – joe_mcgarvey@hirono.senate.gov
Ms. Hafsa Khan – Staff Assistant – Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) – hafsa_khan@brown.senate.gov
Ms. Samantha Allen – Constituent Services Representative – Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) – samantha_allen@brown.senate.gov
Ms. Julia Kennedy – Researcher – Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) – julia_kennedy@baldwin.senate.gov
Ms. Grace Cason – Legislative Correspondent – Sen. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) – grace_cason@duckworth.senate.gov
Ms. Kristine Roth – Legislative Counsel – Joint Committee on Taxation (House) – kristine.roth@jct.gov
Ms. Elise Planchet – Staff Assistant – Indian Affairs Committee (Senate) – elise_planchet@indian.senate.gov
Ms. Colleen Moore – Legislative Clerk/Finance Administrator – Administration Committee – colleen.moore@mail.house.gov
Ms. Karen Christian – General Counsel – Energy and Commerce Committee (House) – karen.christian@mail.house.gov
Ms. Melissa Froelich – Chief Counsel – Energy and Commerce Committee (House) – melissa.froelich@mail.house.gov
Ms. Jan Oliver – Chief Counsel/Deputy Staff Director – Small Business Committee (House) – jan.oliver@mail.house.gov
Mr. Jeremy Deutsch – Chief of Staff – Republican Conference (House) – jeremy.deutsch@mail.house.gov
Mr. Pat Melton – District Director – Rep. Andy Barr (R-KY) – pat.melton@mail.house.gov
Mr. Ben Leone – Legislative Assistant – Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH) – ben.leone@mail.house.gov
Mr. Alec Fink – Legislative Correspondent – Rep. Bill Johnson (R-OH) – alec.fink@mail.house.gov
Ms. Alyssa Wootton – Legislative Counsel – Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX) – alyssa.wootton@mail.house.gov
Mr. Dallas Gerber – Communications Director – Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH) – dallas.gerber@mail.house.gov
Ms. Jenna Gerten – District Representative – Rep. Bob Latta (R-OH) – jenna.gerten@mail.house.gov
Mr. Tim Bosserman – District Representative – Rep. Bob Latta (R-OH) – tim.bosserman@mail.house.gov
Mr. Josh Weemhoff – District Outreach Representative – Rep. Dave Joyce (R-OH) – josh.weemhoff@mail.house.gov
Mr. Patrick Flood – Military Legislative Assistant – Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE) – patrick.flood@mail.house.gov
Mr. Matt Stross – Legislative Counsel – Rep. George Holding (R-NC) – matt.stross@mail.house.gov
Ms. Dee Dee Knapp – Constituent Services Director – Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH) – daneen.knapp@mail.house.gov
Mr. Lee Martin – Military and Veterans Affairs Representative – Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH) – lee.martin@mail.house.gov
Mr. Aaron Locker – Veterans Outreach & Constituent Services Rep.- Rep. Jim Renacci (R-OH) – aaron.locker@mail.house.gov
Mr. Zach Male – State Director – Rep. Jim Renacci (R-OH) – zach.male@mail.house.gov
Mr. Ari Kirsh – Legislative Correspondent – Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL) – ari.kirsh@mail.house.gov
Mr. Luke Crumley – Assistant District Director – Rep. Pat Tiberi (R-OH) – luke.crumley@mail.house.gov
Mr. David Planning – Special Assistant – Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC) – david.planning@mail.house.gov
Ms. AnnMarie Graham – Press Secretary – Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH) – annmarie.graham@mail.house.gov
Mr. Drew Hatter – Legislative Correspondent/Health Care Aide – Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH) – drew.hatter@mail.house.gov
Mr. Adam Rapien – District Director – Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH) – adam.rapien@mail.house.gov
Mr. Adam Slane – Senior Caseworker – Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH) – adam.slane@mail.house.gov
Mr. Joe Bengoechea – Field Representative – Rep. Steve Stivers (R-OH) – joseph.bengoechea@mail.house.gov
Mr. Matt Kaido – Policy Analyst, Office of the Vice Chair – Joint Economic Committee (Senate) – matt.kaido@mail.house.gov
Mr. John Kohler – Research Assistant – Joint Economic Committee (Senate) – john.kohler@mail.house.gov
Ms. Elizabeth Gorman – Counsel – HELP Committee – elizabeth_gorman@help.senate.gov
Mr. Andy Polesovsky – Senior Counsel – HSGAC Committee – andrew_polesovsky@hsgac.senate.gov
Ms. Jenni Scheaffer – Professional Staff Member – HSGAC Committee – jennifer_scheaffer@hsgac.senate.gov
Mr. Chandler Morse – Chief of Staff – Sen. Jeff Flake (R-AZ) – chandler_morse@flake.senate.gov
Ms. Beth Nelson – Legislative Assistant – Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX) – beth_nelson@cornyn.senate.gov
Mr. Mark Isakowitz – Chief of Staff – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – mark_isakowitz@portman.senate.gov
Mr. Jason Knox – District Director, Central – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – jason_knox@portman.senate.gov
Ms. Kelsey Krull – District Representative – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – kelsey_krull@portman.senate.gov
Ms. Tori Mahoney – Staff Assistant – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – tori_mahoney@portman.senate.gov
Ms. Kristy Ramey – Caseworker – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – kristy_ramey@portman.senate.gov
Mr. Dhruv Shah – Staff Assistant – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – dhruv_shah@portman.senate.gov
Mr. David Straka – Staff Assistant – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – david_straka@portman.senate.gov
Mr. Stephen White – Central District Director – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – stephen_white@portman.senate.gov
Mr. Greg Zuber – State Personal Aide – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – greg_zuber@portman.senate.gov
Ms. Caryn Candisky – District Director – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – caryn_candisky@portman.senate.gov
Mr. Michael Dustman – Constituent Services Director – Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH) – michael_dustman@portman.senate.gov
Ms. Courtney Temple – Legislative Director – Sen. Thom Tillis (R-NC) – courtney_temple@tillis.senate.gov
Mr. Shay Hawkins – Staff Director (R) – Senate Finance Committee – shay_hawkins@finance.senate.gov
Ms. Amanda Perez – Policy Director – Democratic Policy and Communications Center – amanda_perez@dpc.senate.gov
Mr. Danniyal Ahmed – Legislative Correspondent – Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) – danniyal.ahmed@mail.house.gov
Ms. Jocelyn Armstrong – District Director – Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-OH) – jocelyn.armstrong@mail.house.gov
Mr. Lucas Bailey – Staff Assistant – House Republican Whip – lucas.bailey@mail.house.gov
Mr. Zach Blandford – Staff Assistant – Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) – zach_blandford@brown.senate.gov
Ms. Colleen Bell – Legislative Director – Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) – colleen_bell@blumenthal.senate.gov
Ms. Mikayla Bodey – Legislative Correspondent – Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-MO) – mikayla_bodey@mccaskill.senate.gov
Ms. Mindi Brookhart – Press Assistant – House Agriculture Committee – mindi.brookhart@mail.house.gov
Ms. Abby Camp – Deputy Coalitions Director – House Agriculture Committee – abby.camp@mail.house.gov
Mr. Kris Fetterman – Speechwriter – Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) – kris.fetterman@mail.house.gov


Critical House Staff Contacts:

House Office Chiefs of Staff
House Office Legislative Directors
House Office Communications Directors
House Office Schedulers – All Hail!

Bonus:

House Office District Directors

Critical Senate Staff Contacts:

Senate Office Chiefs of Staff
Senate Office Legislative Directors
Senate Office Communications Directors
Senate Office Administrative Directors

Bonus:

Senate Office State Directors


Congressional Materials Library:

Congressional Résumé Sample
Congressional References Page Sample
Congressional Cover Letter Sample

Congressional Writing Sample A
Congressional Writing Sample B
Sample Congressional Press Release

Form A: States Where You Have Lived & Worked
Form B: Congressional Member Tip Sheet
Form C: Networking Detail Sheet


New Application Power Bundle:

Your Master Plan
Congressional Résumé
References Page
LinkedIn Profile
Social Media Scrub
Writing Samples
Press Release Sample
Congressional Cover Letter

Targeted Outreach & Networking:

Your Alumni Database
States Where You Have Lived & Worked
Congressional Member Tip Sheet
All Hail The Congressional Scheduler
Casting Networking Hooks Via Email
Introductory Email Samples
Congressional Interview Tip Sheet (Informal)
Critical Follow-Up
Weekly Update

Interview Execution & Offer:

Approaching Formal Job Openings
Phone Interview Execution
In-Person Formal Interviews
Final Interviews
Offer Negotiation & Closing
Thank You!

 

Top