Power Schools: Maximize Your College Network – Spelman College


Your college and university alumni network in Congress is tremendously powerful. If you are interested in talking with anyone from your college and university family, schedule a Mini Strategy Session and let’s discuss a strategy for direct congressional outreach: Schedule A New Appointment


Spelman College – House & Senate:

Ms. Jocelyn Harris – Counsel – Budget Committee (House) – jocelyn.harris@mail.house.gov
Ms. Maia Estes – Chief of Staff – Rep. Anthony Brown (D-MD) – maia.estes@mail.house.gov
Ms. Ashli Palmer – Policy Director – Rep. Jim Clyburn (D-SC) – ashli.palmer@mail.house.gov
Ms. Tuere Butler – District Director – Rep. John Lewis (D-GA) – tuere.butler@mail.house.gov
Ms. Antonia Hill – Legislative Correspondent – Rep. Steny Hoyer (D-MD) – antonia.hill@mail.house.gov
Ms. Alexandria Phillips – Press Secretary – Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) – alex_phillips@gillibrand.senate.gov
Ms. Ariel Eckblad – Legislative Aide – Sen. Kamala Harris (D-CA) – ariel_eckblad@harris.senate.gov
Ms. Maria Price – Counsel – Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) – maria_price@gillibrand.senate.gov
Ms. Alexis Crews – Constituent Advocate – Sen. Michael Bennet (D-CO) – alexis_crews@bennet.senate.gov
Ms. Zarinah Mustafa – Special Assistant/Office Manager – Sen. Ron Wyden (D-OR) – zarinah_mustafa@wyden.senate.gov
Ms. Vera Jordan – State Representative – Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL) – vera_jordan@shelby.senate.gov
Ms. Danyelle Carter – Digital Press Secretary – Rep. Val Demings (D-FL) – danyelle.carter@mail.house.gov
Ms. Emerald Garrett – Staff Assistant – House Assistant Democratic Leader – emerald.garrett@mail.house.gov
Ms. Donni Turner – Senior Adviser, Education Policy – Senate Budget Committee (D) – donni_turner@budget.senate.gov


Critical House Staff Contacts:

House Office Chiefs of Staff
House Office Legislative Directors
House Office Communications Directors
House Office Schedulers – All Hail!

Bonus:

House Office District Directors

Critical Senate Staff Contacts:

Senate Office Chiefs of Staff
Senate Office Legislative Directors
Senate Office Communications Directors
Senate Office Administrative Directors

Bonus:

Senate Office State Directors


Congressional Materials Library:

Congressional Résumé Sample
Congressional References Page Sample
Congressional Cover Letter Sample

Congressional Writing Sample A
Congressional Writing Sample B
Sample Congressional Press Release

Form A: States Where You Have Lived & Worked
Form B: Congressional Member Tip Sheet
Form C: Networking Detail Sheet


New Application Power Bundle:

Your Master Plan
Congressional Résumé
References Page
LinkedIn Profile
Social Media Scrub
Writing Samples
Press Release Sample
Congressional Cover Letter

Targeted Outreach & Networking:

Your Alumni Database
States Where You Have Lived & Worked
Congressional Member Tip Sheet
All Hail The Congressional Scheduler
Casting Networking Hooks Via Email
Introductory Email Samples
Congressional Interview Tip Sheet (Informal)
Critical Follow-Up
Weekly Update

Interview Execution & Offer:

Approaching Formal Job Openings
Phone Interview Execution
In-Person Formal Interviews
Final Interviews
Offer Negotiation & Closing
Thank You!

Top